ASAPbio is partnering with DORA, HHMI, and the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative to host a discussion on creating a culture of constructive public review and feedback on preprints. 

Public feedback on preprints can unlock their full potential to accelerate science.

Public preprint review can help authors improve their paper, find new collaborators, and gain visibility. It also helps readers find interesting and relevant papers and contextualize them with the reactions of experts in the field. Never has this been more apparent than in COVID-19, where rapid communication and expert commentary have both been in high demand. Yet, most feedback on preprints is currently exchanged privately.

Read the full ASAPbio announcement and find out how to register for the event and to support preprint review as an author at https://asapbio.org/feedbackasap


Meeting registration

Researchers and others interested in preprint review are invited to join ASAPbio to share your ideas, shape the conversation, and start or join new projects. During registration, you’ll have the opportunity to submit a short proposal for your own breakout session.

July 21, 2021 | 15:00 UTC: 8am PDT, 11am EDT, 4pm UK, 5pm CEST, 8:30pm IST | See more time zones | Meeting duration: 4 hours

The meeting is free while registration is required. 

Take action to support preprint review

To give and receive constructive feedback on preprints, here is what you can do:

If you have submitted your work to AfricArXiv, you can explicitly request public feedback in the comments or on social media.

ScienceOpen provides a standardized open peer review on the ScienceOpen platform; pre- and post-publication. For an exemplary workflow read https://blog.scienceopen.com/2020/05/open-peer-review-workflow/ 

Moreover, starting in July 2021, eLife will exclusively review preprints and post public reviews on them. You can use ASAPbio’s registry, ReimagineReview, to identify various initiatives and organisations that review preprints including our partners PREreview, Peer Community In…, and Qeios

By submitting your work on our partner repositories including Figshare, Open Science Framework (OSF), ScienceOpen, Qeios, PubPub, and Zenodo, your work is eligible for review through the projects listed above. 

If you have not yet submitted to AfricArXiv, you can do so now so that your article will be reviewed and accepted within a few days. You will then be able to request feedback for your work as described above. 

Submit your work to any of our partner repositories at info.africarxiv.org/submit 

Email us in case of any questions or technical difficulties at info@africarxiv.org

In a recent collaborative peer-review workshop jointly hosted with Eider Africa, Training Center in Communication, and PREreview we discussed best practices and innovative approaches to peer review. 

You can watch the recordings of our three sessions and find related materials at https://doi.org/10.21428/3b2160cd.c3faf764 

Join the Community Peer Review Africa group on WhatsApp and Facebook where we bring together scientists from across Africa and scientists engaged in African-related research for virtual discussions and collaborative peer review.


0 Comments

Leave a Reply