بعد أكثر من عامين من عملنا مع AfricArXiv ، يسعدنا تقديم لمحة عامة عن عملنا. تجد المزيد من التفاصيل والمعلومات في 

استشهد على النحو التالي: Ahinon، JS، Ksibi، N.، Havemann، J. وآخرون. (2020 ، 25 سبتمبر). AfricanArXiv - مستودع العلماء الأفريقي المفتوح.

https://doi.org/10.31730/osf.io/56p3e 

كموقعين على مبادرة هلسنكي حول التعددية اللغويةأطلقت حملة إعلان سان فرانسيسكو حول تقييم البحوث (سفدورا) ، و مبادرة C19 Rapid Peer Review و مبادئ الوصول المفتوح الأفريقية في الاتصال العلمي نحن نعزز التنوع اللغوي ونزاهة البحث والشفافية في النشر العلمي الأفريقي.

لماذا نحتاج إلى مستودع علمي لأفريقيا؟

تشمل رؤية ورسالة AfricaArXiv تعزيز المجتمع بين الباحثين الأفارقة ، وتسهيل التعاون بين الباحثين الأفارقة وغير الأفارقة ، ورفع مكانة البحث الأفريقي على المسرح الدولي. 

نجعل البحث الأفريقي مرئيًا على مستوى العالم ، وبالتالي زيادة التعاون في جميع أنحاء القارة بالإضافة إلى إطلاق البحوث متعددة التخصصات. يتم تحقيق ذلك عن طريق الشراكة مع المنظمات الراسخة والشهيرة داخل وخارج إفريقيا المتخصصة في الاتصال العلمي وبناء القدرات وتطوير التكنولوجيا العلمية والشبكات - وكلها تخدم قابلية اكتشاف نتائج البحوث الأفريقية والإنجازات بالإضافة إلى بناء سمعة ملفات الباحثين الأفارقة. 

إنجازاتنا حتى الآن

في أبريل 2018 ، زرعت بذرة AfricArXiv خلال قمة AfricaOSH الثانية في كوماسي ، غانا بهذا التاريخ التاريخي سقسقة:

في يونيو من نفس العام ، تعاونا مع مركز العلوم المفتوحة وأطلقنا a خدمة ما قبل الطباعة ذات العلامات التجارية. في أوائل عام 2020 ، قمنا بتوسيع منصة الوصول المفتوح الخاصة بنا إلى نطاق مجتمع

جمع على Zenodo وبدأت شراكة مع ScienceOpenالذين نجري معهم مسودات افريك اركسيف وتنظيم مجموعة من بحث حول COVID-19 من أفريقيا وحولها.

بعد ذلك بوقت قصير وكاستجابة مبتكرة وفورية للوباء ، دخلنا في شراكة مع مجموعة المعرفة المستقبلية لتوفير منصة لـ المطبوعات الصوتية / المرئية على PubPub. بعد ذلك ، نخطط لإضافة فيغشير و PKP / OPS إلى قائمة مستودعات شركائنا.

نظرًا لأننا نعمل على تعزيز المجتمع بين الباحثين الأفارقة ، فقد كنا متحمسين لإطلاق عريضة في عام 2019 للتوقيع على المبادئ الأفريقية للوصول المفتوح في الاتصالات العلمية https://info.africarxiv.org/african-oa-principles/. الالتماس مستمر ، لذا لا يزال بإمكانك إضافة اسمك إليه. تم نشره بموجب ترخيص CC-BY ، ويمكن لأي شخص مشاركة المبادئ وتكييفها مع منح الائتمان المناسب 'المبادئ الأفريقية للنفاذ المفتوح في الاتصالات العلمية كما اتفق عليها الموقعون"، وتوفير رابط للمبادئ ، وبيان ما إذا تم إجراء تغييرات.

أعلنا عن شراكاتنا الإستراتيجية مع معهد البحوث والتعليم المفتوح الموزع عالميا (إيجدور) ، افتح خريطة المعرفة و ScienceOpen. بدأ ORCID و AfricArXiv جهودًا مشتركة من أجل مساعدة العلماء الأفارقة في النهوض بمهنهم من خلال معرفات فريدة

منذ بداية الوباء في مارس ، نقوم بجمع وإنشاء ونشر ثروة من الموارد والأفكار والمبادئ التوجيهية حول COVID-19 في إفريقيا

لقد تلقينا وقبولنا ما يقرب من 200 طلب في المجموع عبر مستودعات شركائنا.

خارطة الطريق 2021-2023

من خلال بناء بنية تحتية مفتوحة وشفافة وموثوقة وفعالة ولا مركزية لقابلية الاكتشاف ، فإن هدفنا هو دعم اتصال العلماء الأفارقة - والمنح الدراسية الأفريقية - بجمهور أوسع. كجزء من خطط المستقبل القريب ، نعتزم زيادة تنويع الأدوات والتطبيقات للعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع المعايير والمنهجيات المبتكرة والقابلة للتطبيق عالميًا لإنجاز مهمتنا لضمان الملكية الأفريقية للبيانات الأفريقية. في السنوات الثلاث المقبلة ، نرغب في زيادة بناء الشبكات والشراكات في النظام البيئي الأفريقي للعلوم المفتوحة المتنامي وإنشاء موقع AfricaArXiv كمنصة وصول مفتوحة لامركزية ذاتية الاستضافة وعبر القارات. نتصور المستودعات العلمية المختلفة التي تستضيف المحتوى الأفريقي لتصبح قابلة للتشغيل المتبادل وتعمل مع مختلف أصحاب المصلحة لتحقيق هذا الهدف. يمكن العثور على خريطة الطريق الكاملة على africarxiv.org/roadmap.

المساهمة والدعم والمشاركة

يتضمن بناء وإدارة موقع AfricArXiv نفقات الموارد البشرية وتطوير التكنولوجيا وخدمات الشركاء وخدمات الجهات الخارجية مثل استضافة الويب ورسوم أدوات الاتصال الرقمية وما إلى ذلك. من 2018 إلى 2020 ، تمت تغطية هذه النفقات من خلال المساهمات المالية المباشرة في الغالب من قبل أعضاء الفريق الأساسي ، المشاركة في المؤتمر والإعفاء من رسوم خدمة الشركاء والقوى العاملة العينية المتفانية للغاية من قبل فريق ومستخدمي AfricaArxiv الأوسع. 

نحن نعمل على جعل الطلبات ميسورة التكلفة للباحثين الأفراد وهذا هو سبب حاجتنا للدعم.

تشمل مصادر الدخل المخطط لها الشراكات المؤسسية والتمويل الجماعي والتدريب والخدمات الاستشارية وبناء القدرات
يمكن تقديم المساهمات المالية لـ AfricArXiv عبر PayPal و mPesa والخصم المباشر والتحويل عبر الإنترنت. لمزيد من التفاصيل ، انظر https://info.africarxiv.org/contribute/.

يمكن وضع المساهمات عبر الإنترنت في https://opencollective.com/africarxiv عن طريق بطاقة الائتمان أو التحويل المصرفي: يمكن أيضًا التبرع المتخفي.


1 تعليق

تشارك AfricaArXiv و COS لدعم البحوث الأفريقية - AfricArXiv · 22 أكتوبر 2020 الساعة 8:51 مساءً

[...] هذا الشهر ، لخص موقع AfricArXiv الإنجازات وخارطة الطريق للسنوات 1-3 القادمة. يمكنك دعم وبناء نحو استدامتها من خلال [...]

اترك تعليق

More than two years into our work with AfricArXiv we are glad to present an overview of our work. You find more details and information at 

Cite as: Ahinon, J. S., Ksibi, N., Havemann, J. et al. (2020, September 25). AfricArXiv – the pan-African Open Scholarly Repository.

https://doi.org/10.31730/osf.io/56p3e 

As signatories to the Helsinki Initiative on Multilingualism, the San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment (sfDORA), the C19 Rapid Peer Review initiative and the African Open Access Principles in Scholarly Communication we foster language diversity, research integrity and transparency in African scholarly publishing.

Why do we need a scholarly repository for Africa?

The vision and mission of AfricArXiv include fostering community among African researchers, facilitate collaborations between African and non-African researchers, and raise the profile of African research on the international stage. 

We are making African research visible globally, thereby increasing collaboration across the continent as well as triggering interdisciplinary research. This is achieved by partnering with established and renowned organisations inside and outside Africa that specialize in science communication, capacity building, scholarly tech development and networking – all of which serve the discoverability of African research results and achievements as well as the reputation building of African researchers’ profiles. 

Our achievements so far

In April 2018, the seed for AfricArXiv was planted during the 2nd AfricaOSH summit in Kumasi, Ghana with this historic tweet:

In June that same year, we joined forces with The Center for Open Science and  launched a branded preprint service. Early in 2020 we extended our Open Access platform to a community

collection on Zenodo and initiated a partnership with ScienceOpen, with whom we are running AfricArXiv preprints and curating a collection of COVID-19 research from and about Africa.

Shortly after that and as an innovative and immediate response to the pandemic, we partnered with Knowledge Futures Group to provide a platform for audio/visual preprints on PubPub. Next, we plan to add Figshare and PKP/OPS to the list of our partner repositories.

Since we work to foster community among African researchers, we were excited to launch a petition in 2019 to sign the African Principles for Open Access in Scholarly Communication https://info.africarxiv.org/african-oa-principles/. The petition is ongoing, so you can still add your name to it. Published under CC-BY licence, anyone can Share and Adapt the principles while giving appropriate credit ‘African Principles for Open Access in Scholarly Communication as agreed upon by the signatories‘, provide a link to the principles, and indicate if changes were made.

We announced our strategic partnerships with the Institute for Globally Distributed Open Research and Education (IGDORE), Open Knowledge Map and ScienceOpen. ORCID and AfricArXiv initiated joint efforts to assist African scientists in advancing their careers through unique identifiers

Since the beginning of the pandemic in March, we collect, create and disseminate a wealth of resources, ideas and guidelines around COVID-19 in Africa

We have received and accepted around 200 submissions in total across our partner repositories.

Roadmap 2021-2023

Through the building of an open, transparent, reliable, efficient and decentralized discoverability infrastructure, it is our aim to support the connectivity of African scholars – and African scholarship – to a wider audience.  As part of the near future plans, we intend to further diversify tools and applications to work along innovative, globally applicable standards and methodologies to accomplish our mission to ensure African ownership of African data. In the next three years, we want to further increase networking and partnership building in the growing African Open Science ecosystem and establish AfricArXiv as a self-hosted, cross-continental decentralised Open Access platform. We envision the various scholarly repositories that host African content to become interoperable and work with various stakeholders towards that goal. The full roadmap can be found on africarxiv.org/roadmap.

Contribute, support and engage

Building and managing AfricArXiv involves expenses for human resources, technology development, partner services, third-party services like web hosting, digital communication tool fees etc. From 2018 to 2020, these expenses were covered by direct financial contributions mostly by the core team members, conference participation and partner service fee waivers and a highly dedicated in-kind workforce by the wider AfricArxiv team and users. 

We are working towards keeping submissions affordable for individual researchers and this is why we need support.

Our planned revenue streams include institutional partnerships, crowdfunding, training, consultancy services and capacity building
Financial contributions to AfricArXiv can be made via PayPal, mPesa, direct debit, and online transfer. For details, see https://info.africarxiv.org/contribute/.

Online contributions can be placed at https://opencollective.com/africarxiv via credit card or bank transfer: incognito donations are also possible.


1 Comment

AfricArXiv and COS partner to support pan-African research – AfricArXiv · 22nd October 2020 at 8:51 pm

[…] this month, AfricArXiv summarized achievements and the roadmap for the next 1-3 years to come. You can support and build towards its sustainability via […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

risus id, mi, elit. ut justo venenatis, quis, nunc mattis et,