المدير التنفيذي لشركة TCC Africa وشريك مشروع AfricaArXiv جوي Owango يتحدث الى مجتمعات الأعمال في أفريقيا حول نموذجها وطموحاتها والحالة الراهنة للتعليم العالي والبحث في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى.

نشرت أصلا في africabusinesscommunities.com/.../

أفضل مركز التدريب في الاتصالات  هي منظمة مستدامة ذاتيًا عمرها 14 عامًا غير هادفة للربح بالشراكة مع جامعة نيروبي.

نحن ⁩مركز تدريب⁧⁩ الذي يدعم الباحثين ومعاهد البحوث والحكومات في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء حول كيفية إنتاج وتحسين مخرجاتهم البحثية والرؤية [...].

[...]

توجد برامج مثل برامجنا ، لكنها ممولة من المانحين والتحدي الأكبر هو أنه بمجرد اكتمال التمويل ، ينهار المشروع. هذا هو السبب في أننا اخترنا عدم الخوض في نموذج التمويل ، ولكن نهج الأعمال والاستدامة الذاتية لإدارة مركز التدريب في Communcation وقصة نجاحنا هي أننا دعمنا أكثر من 3000 باحث في (مستويات الماجستير والدكتوراه والأساتذة) في أكثر من 70 معاهد بحثية في أكثر من 20 دولة في أفريقيا جنوب الصحراء.

حائز على جائزة Invest2Impact 2019

مصدر الصورة: موقع TCC Africa

أفضل Invest2Impact كان تحديًا لخمسة دول وتنافسنا مع 800 شركة في المنطقة التي برزت كأفضل 100 شركة فائزة. نظرت الجائزة إلى النساء اللائي يديرن منظمات مستدامة في المنطقة وفزنا في فئة التعليم العالي.

الوضع الحالي للتعليم العالي والبحث في كينيا وأفريقيا جنوب الصحراء

[...] التزمت الحكومات بإنفاق ما لا يقل عن واحد بالمائة من ناتجها المحلي الإجمالي على التعليم العالي والبحث. حتى الآن ، وصلت 15 دولة أفريقية ، بما في ذلك كينيا ، إلى هذا الهدف تقريبًا وأنشأت مجالس المنح العلمية ، وتتمثل مهمتها في توفير التمويل والدعم البحثي لقطاع التعليم العالي والبحث. هذا هو المكان الذي نأتي إليه كمركز حيث ندعم المجتمعات البحثية والأكاديمية في هذه البلدان المعنية من خلال التدريب والاستشارات حول طرق تحسين جودة مخرجات البحث (الأوراق الأكاديمية والعروض التقديمية) وزيادة ظهورها ، من خلال البحوث المختلفة حلول الدعم وبيانات الوصول المفتوح.

خطط لـ 2020

إنشاء المزيد من الشراكات العالمية بين الشمال والجنوب ، والتي ستؤدي إلى توفير المزيد من بيانات الوصول المفتوح للباحثين في جنوب الصحراء الأفريقية ، مما يجعل عملية اكتشاف أبحاثهم أسهل ويجعل عملهم أكثر وضوحًا ، والذي بدوره يمكّن الأكاديميين من الحصول على المعلومات التي يمكن أن تعطي لهم ميزة تنافسية مع أقرانهم في العالم الشمالي.

جوي أوانجو ، المدير التنفيذي في TCC Africa
قراءة المقابلة كلها في africabusinesscommunities.com/.../

حول TCC أفريقيا

تتمثل مهمة TCC Africa في المساهمة في زيادة التعريف ، محليًا ودوليًا ، للعلوم الأفريقية ، وتأثيرها على حياة الأفارقة ، من خلال تحسين المهارات في الاتصالات التقنية بجميع أشكالها ، في الأوساط الأكاديمية والمنتديات الأخرى ذات الصلة ، في إفريقيا. | tcc-africa.org/about/

التعاون TCC Africa <> AfricArXiv

تتعاون TCC Africa و AfricanArXiv في بناء القدرات في مجال الكتابة العلمية والنشر ، والوصول المفتوح ، وإكتشاف البحوث الأفريقية.

TCC Africa’s Executive Director and AfricArXiv project partner Joy Owango talked to Africa Business Communities about its model, ambitions and the current state of higher education and research in Sub Saharan Africa.

Originally published at africabusinesscommunities.com/…/
Joy Owango, Director at TCC Africa

The Training Centre in Communication  is a self sustainable 14 year old not-for-profit organization  in partnership with University of Nairobi.

We are a training centre that supports researchers, research institutes  and governments in Sub Sahara Africa on how they can produce  and improve  their research output and visibility […].

[…]

There are programmes like ours that exist, but they are donor funded  and the biggest challenge is that once the funding is completed the project collapses. That is why we chose not to go through  the funding model , but a business  and self  sustainable approach to  managing  Training Centre in Communcation and our success story is that we have supported  over 3000 researchers at (MSc, PhD and Profs levels) in over 70 research institutes  in over 20 countries in Sub Sahara Africa.

Laureate of the Invest2Impact Award 2019

Image source: TCC Africa website

The Invest2Impact was a five country challenge and we competed against 800 companies in the region emerging as  the top 100 winners. The award looked at women who run sustainable organisations in the region and we won in the Higher Education category.

The current state of higher education  and research in Kenya and Sub Saharan Africa

[…] governments have committed  to spending at least one percent of their  GDP on higher education and research. So far 15 African countries  including Kenya have almost reached  this target and  have created  Science  Granting Councils, whose job is to provide funding , research support for the higher education and research sector.  This is where  we come in as a centre as we support the research and academic communities in these respective countries through training and consultancy on ways to improve the of the quality of  research outputs(academic papers, presentations) and increase their visibility, through various research support solutions and  open access data.

Plans for 2020

Create more Global North-South partnerships, that will lead to  providing more open access data for researchers in Sub Sahara Africa, thus making their research discovery process easier  and making their work more visible, which, in turn  empower  academics on getting information that can give them a competitive edge with their peers in the Global North.

Joy Owango, Executive Director at TCC Africa
Read the whole interview at africabusinesscommunities.com/…/

About TCC Africa

TCC Africa’s mission is to contribute to the increase in profile, locally, and internationally, of African science, and its impact on the life of Africans, by improving skills in technical communication in all forms, at academia and other relevant forums, in Africa. | tcc-africa.org/about/

TCC Africa <> AfricArXiv collaboration

TCC Africa and AfricArXiv collaborate towards capacity building in Scientific Writing and Publishing, Open Access, and Discoverability of African research.


0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

felis odio pulvinar facilisis Lorem Donec risus. id dapibus porta.