مقابلة مع رانيا محمد من جامعة الخرطوم ، السودان

نشرت من قبل جوهانسن أوباندا وبريسيلا مينساه on

الدكتورة رانيا بليلة ، من جامعة الخرطوم ، السودان ، عالمة بيولوجيا جزيئية مسببة للأمراض تعمل على تطوير استراتيجيات مكافحة الأمراض المعدية..

تستكشف هذه المقابلة العمل البحثي للدكتورة باليلا وخبرتها وجهودها في تثقيف مجتمعها في التعامل مع الكائنات الحية السامة والسامة. 

الملفات الشخصية على الإنترنت: معرف ORCID // لينكد إن //  ResearchGate // الباحث العلمي من Google // Academia.edu // تويتر

سيرة ذاتية قصيرة

الدكتورة باليلا هي عالمة أحياء جزيئية ممرضة مع 21 عامًا من الخبرة المهنية ، حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه في الأمراض المعدية وطب المناطق المدارية من LSHTM ، المملكة المتحدة. تعمل على تطوير استراتيجيات مكافحة الأمراض المعدية وقيادة فريق للسيطرة على تأثير الكائنات السامة والسامة المميتة على الأطفال السودانيين. يشغل الدكتور باليلا حاليا منصب سفير السودان لدى الجمعية الملكية لطب المناطق الحارة والصحة (RSTMH) (2020-23) وهو مدافع قوي عن الوصول المفتوح. 

تم التقاط هذه الصورة أثناء إغلاق الموجة الأولى لـ COVID -19. كنت أقوم بتحليل الملف الجزيئي لـ SARS-Cov2 لفهم COVID-19 بشكل أفضل في ذلك الوقت.

كيف تعرفت على أفريك آرإكسف؟

التقيت السيدة جو Havemann في SPARC Africa 2019 في جنوب إفريقيا وقدمت لي أفريك أر أكسيف ومن ثم أصبحت عضوًا.

هل سبق لك أن شاركت النتائج في مستودعات ما قبل الطباعة أو المؤسسات الأخرى؟

نعم فعلت في ResearchGate

رابط / روابط للتحميلات المقبولة والعمل المنشور:

ما مدى صلة بحثك بالسياق الأفريقي؟ 

ينصب تركيزي في البحث على أمراض المناطق المدارية المهملة مع اهتمام خاص بداء الليشمانيات وعلم وراثة طفيليات الملاريا والحيوانات السامة والسامة ، وخاصة العقارب والثعابين. في سياق تغير المناخ العالمي والفيضانات والتوسع الحضري ، يقترب الناس بشكل متزايد من الكائنات السامة للغاية مثل بعض أنواع الثعابين والعقارب. هذا الوضع واضح جدا في السياقين الأفريقي والآسيوي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، نشعر بالحاجة إلى دراسة العقارب السامة وكيفية السيطرة عليها دون إحداث خلل بيئي في بلدي الأم السودان.

ما هو السؤال أو التحدي الذي كنت ستطرحه عندما بدأت هذا العمل وما هي الاكتشافات التي قادتك إلى نتائجك الحالية؟

تم إهمال العقارب في السودان منذ عقود. لذلك نحن في ظلام دامس. لقد فقدنا أكثر من 100 طفل بسبب لسعات العقارب السامة في عام 2019 في منطقة واحدة حيث لدينا مقبرة مخصصة للأطفال القتلى. قادني هذا إلى الاتصال بزملائي لتأسيس أول مجموعة بحثية سودانية للكائنات السامة والسامة. نحدد ونصنف الحيوان السام ونجمعه من المستوطنات البشرية ونطلقه في بيئته الطبيعية أو خلفه ونقوم بتربيته في متحف التاريخ الطبيعي بالسودان ، وندرس كيف يمكننا السيطرة عليه ، وتحديد تركيب سمومه ، وتثقيف الناس حول كيفية ذلك. للتعامل معهم ، إلخ.

سنواصل ما بدأناه في هذه المنطقة ونفعل الشيء نفسه في مناطق أخرى في السودان حيث تظهر الثعابين والعقارب بشكل شائع.

كيف تتصور الاتصالات البحثية في أفريقيا؟

أعتقد أننا بحاجة إلى المزيد من التواصل لأننا نتشارك نفس التحديات. إن AfricArXiv منصة رائعة لهذا الغرض.

هل لديك أية أفكار أو أسئلة للدكتورة بليلة؟ يمكنك تركهم في مربع التعليقات أدناه.

المحررون: جوهانسن أوباندا (نص) وبريسيلا منساه (صورة)

هل تعمل على البحث في أفريقيا أو حول أفريقيا؟ يمكنك الاستفادة من AfricanArXiv لإرسال عملك على https://info.africarxiv.org/submit/

AfricaArXiv هو أرشيف رقمي بقيادة المجتمع لاتصالات الأبحاث الأفريقية. نحن نقدم منصة غير ربحية لتحميل أوراق العمل والمطبوعات المسبقة والمخطوطات المقبولة (ما بعد الطباعة) والعروض التقديمية ومجموعات البيانات عبر منصات شركائنا. إن أفريكس آركسيف مكرس لتعزيز البحث والتعاون بين العلماء الأفارقة ، وتعزيز وضوح نتائج البحوث الأفريقية وزيادة التعاون على الصعيد العالمي.

Interview with Rania Mohamed of University of Khartoum, Sudan

Published by Johanssen Obanda & Priscilla Mensah on

Dr. Rania Baleela, from University of Khartoum, Sudan, is a pathogen molecular biologist working towards developing infectious diseases control strategies.

This interview explores Dr. Baleela’s research work, experience and her efforts in educating her community in dealing with poisonous and venomous organisms. 

Online profiles: ORCID iD // Linkedin //  ResearchGate // Google Scholar // Academia.edu // Twitter

Short bio

Dr. Baleela is a pathogen molecular biologist with 21 years of professional experience, holding a PhD in infectious diseases and tropical medicine from the LSHTM, UK. She is working towards developing infectious disease control strategies and leading a team to control the impact of venomous and poisonous organisms’ deadly effects on Sudanese children. Dr. Baleela currently serves as the Sudan Ambassador for the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (RSTMH) (2020-23) and is a  strong advocate for Open Access. 

This photo was taken during the COVID -19 first wave shut down. I was analyzing the SARS-Cov2 molecular profile to better understand COVID-19 at that time.

How did you learn about AfricArXiv?

I met Ms. Jo Havemann at SPARC Africa 2019 in South Africa and she introduced AfricArXiv to me hence I became a member.

Have you previously shared results on other preprint or institutional repositories?

Yes I did in ResearchGate

Link/s to your accepted uploads and published work:

How is your research relevant to the African context? 

My research focus is on Neglected Tropical Diseases with a specific interest in Leishmaniasis, Malaria parasite population genetics and poisonous and venomous animals, specifically scorpions and snakes. In the context of global climate change, floods and urbanization, people are getting increasingly closer into contact with extremely poisonous creatures such as some snakes and scorpions species. This situation is very clear in the African and Asian contexts. In addition to that, we feel the urge to study poisonous scorpions and how to control them without causing an ecological imbalance in my home country Sudan.

What question or challenge were you setting out to address when you started this work and what are the discoveries that have led you to your current results?

Scorpions have been neglected in Sudan for decades. Therefore we are in total darkness. We lost more than 100 children to venomous scorpion stings in 2019 in a single locality where we have a graveyard dedicated for dead children. This led me to call my peers to establish the first Sudanese research group for poisonous and venomous organisms. We identify and classify the poisonous animal, collect it from human settlements, release them in their natural habitat or rear and breed them in the Sudan Natural History Museum, study how we can control them, determine their poisons’ composition, and educate people on how to deal with them, etc.

We will continue what we started in this locality and do the same in other localities in Sudan where snakes and scorpions show common occurrence.

How do you envision research communication in Africa?

I believe that we need to communicate more as we share kind of the same challenges. AfricArXiv is a great platform for this.

Do you have any thoughts or questions for Dr. Baleela? You can leave them in the comment box below.

Editors: Johanssen Obanda (text) and Priscilla Mensah (image)

Are you working on research in Africa or about Africa? You can make use of AfricArXiv, to submit your work at https://info.africarxiv.org/submit/

AfricArXiv is a community-led digital archive for African research communication. We provide a non-profit platform to upload working papers, preprints, accepted manuscripts (post-prints), presentations, and data sets via our partner platforms. AfricArXiv is dedicated to foster research and collaboration among African scientists, enhance the visibility of African research output and to increase collaboration globally.


0 Comments

Leave a Reply