لبناء قدرة المؤسسات الأفريقية في الرصد والبحث بشأن تحمض المحيطات ، فإننا نشارك هنا دعوة لمشاركة شبكة OA-Africa موجهة إلى الباحثين البحريين الأفارقة.

حموضة المحيطات إفريقيا (OA-Africa) هي شبكة أفريقية تم تشكيلها خصيصًا للتنسيق والترويج تحمض المحيطات (OA) الوعي والبحوث في أفريقيا. تتطور الأنشطة البحثية بشأن تحمض المحيطات والضغوط ذات الصلة في القارة الأفريقية بسرعة استجابة للحاجة الواضحة لاتخاذ إجراءات لتقليل ومعالجة الآثار الناجمة عن التغيرات المناخية والتغيرات على نطاق النظام. يتكون OA-Africa من العلماء المهتمين بإجراء البحوث حول رصد ومراقبة تحمض المحيطات في إفريقيا وهم جزء من نطاق أوسع. الشبكة العالمية لرصد تحمض المحيطات 

تهدف OA-Africa إلى:

1. ضمان تتميز أفريقيا بالمرونة والدراية بالتهديدات المحتملة واستراتيجيات التخفيف / التكيف المتاحة لمكافحة تحمض المحيطات.

2. تطوير شبكة من العلماء الذين يعملون معًا لتوفير (1) المعلومات لأصحاب المصلحة وصانعي السياسات ، (2) توفير التوجيه والتوجيه (3) تنسيق الأنشطة المتعلقة بالبحث والرصد في الزراعة العضوية (4) تحديد الدعم الواسع لزيادة البحث والرصد في الزراعة العضوية (5) تعزيز تقدم العلم.

3. تيسير التعاون بين العلماء وأصحاب المصلحة وواضعي السياسات لبناء فهم للآثار الاجتماعية والبيولوجية والفيزيائية والآثار المترتبة على تحمض المحيطات

حموضة المحيطات إفريقيا
مصدر الصورة: oa-africa.net/

على مدى السنوات السبع الماضية ، قمنا بتطوير برنامج هادف لزيادة القدرة على القيام بمراقبة تحمض المحيطات والبحوث في البلدان النامية. أجرينا حوالي 7 تدريبًا ، ووصلنا إلى أكثر من 20 عالم وقدمنا ​​المعدات للعديد من المؤسسات.

تقييم قدرة تحمض المحيطات

وضع خبراء تحمض المحيطات استبيانا لتحديد الاحتياجات وتصميم جهود بناء القدرات المستقبلية (المعدات والتدريب). ستكون هذه المعلومات مفيدة لمجتمع البحث الأفريقي وتوجه الإجراءات المستقبلية. سيتم إنشاء قاعدة بيانات مجهولة ومشاركتها مع المجتمع. سيتم دمج ملخص في الكتاب الأبيض OA-Africa يستهدف صانعي السياسات لاجتذاب موارد أبحاث تحمض المحيطات في إفريقيا.

للمشاركة ، يجب أن تكون موظفًا في مؤسسة أفريقية تعمل في مجال العلوم البحرية. لا تحتاج إلى العمل حاليًا في مشروع تحمض المحيطات. يهدف هذا التقييم إلى توفير دعم هادف للمؤسسات وتحسين فرصها لبدء الرصد والبحث بشأن تحمض المحيطات في المستقبل القريب.

يرجى ملء الاستبيان التالي ؛ يجب أن يستغرق الأمر حوالي 15-20 دقيقة فقط:

للسماح لنا بتقييم القدرة البحثية لتحمض المحيطات عبر القارة ، يرجى مشاركة الاستبيان مع زملائك.

إذا كنت قد أجبت بالفعل على نسخة سابقة من الاستبيان ، فيرجى الإجابة مرة أخرى للإبلاغ عن التقدم بمرور الوقت.

شكرا!

الدكتور سام دوبونت

النقطة المحورية لبناء القدرات لـ مركز التنسيق الدولي لتحمض المحيطات (OA-ICC)
محاضر أول وأستاذ مشارك ، جامعة جوتنبرج ، السويد
أوركيد: 0000-0003-2567-8742 
الموقع: gu.se/en/about/find-staff/samdupont 
البريد الإلكتروني: sam.dupont@bioenv.gu.se


0 تعليقات

اترك تعليق

To build the capacity of African institutions in monitoring and research on ocean acidification, we hereby share a call for participation by the OA-Africa network addressed to African marine researchers.

Ocean Acidification Africa (OA-Africa) is a pan-African network specifically convened to coordinate and promote ocean acidification (OA) awareness and research in Africa. Research activities on ocean acidification and related stressors on the African continent are developing rapidly in response to a clear need for action to minimize and address the impacts posed by changing climatic and system-wide changes. OA-Africa  is composed of scientists interested in conducting research on ocean acidification monitoring and observation in Africa and they are part of the wider Global Ocean Acidification Observing Network 

OA-Africa aims to:

1. Ensure Africa is resilient and knowledgeable of potential threats and mitigation/adaptation strategies available to combat ocean acidification.

2. Develop a network of scientists working together to provide (1) information to stakeholders and policymakers, (2) provide guidance and direction (3) coordinate activities related to OA research and monitoring (4) identify broad support for increase OA research and monitoring (5) promote the advancement of science.

3. Facilitate collaboration between scientists, stakeholders, and policymakers to build an understanding of social, biological, and physical impacts and implications of ocean acidification

Ocean Acidification Africa
Image source: oa-africa.net/

Over the last 7 years, we have developed a targeted program to increase capacity to do ocean acidification monitoring and research in developing countries. We ran about 20 trainings, reached over 400 scientists and provided equipment to many institutions.

Ocean Acidification capacity evaluation

Ocean acidification experts have developed a questionnaire to identify needs and design future capacity-building efforts (equipment, training). This information will be beneficial for the African research community and guide future actions. An anonymous database will be created and shared with the community. A summary will be integrated in an OA-Africa white paper targeting policymakers to attract ocean acidification research resources in Africa.

To participate, you should be a staff member at an African institution working on marine science. You do not need to be currently working on an ocean acidification project. This evaluation is to provide targeted support to institutions and optimize their chances to initiate monitoring and research on ocean acidification in the near future.

Please fill in the following questionnaire; it should only take about 15-20 minutes:

To allow us to assess the ocean acidification research capacity across the continent, please do  share the questionnaire with your colleagues.

Should you already have answered a previous version of the questionnaire, please answer again to report progress over time.

Thank you!

Dr. Sam Dupont

Capacity building focal point for the Ocean Acidification International Coordination Centre (OA-ICC)
Senior Lecturer and Associate Professor, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
ORCID: 0000-0003-2567-8742 
Website: gu.se/en/about/find-staff/samdupont 
e-Mail: sam.dupont@bioenv.gu.se


0 Comments

Leave a Reply