What are the new technologies for research quality assessment in academic publishing in the light of Open Science?

Description

As a contribution to Peer Review Week 2020, TCC Africa and AfricArXiv have organised a webinar to take a deep dive into new technological developments towards Rapid and Open Peer Review. More than 300 publications (preprints and journal articles) are available online describing COVID-19 Research in and about Africa(https://www.scienceopen.com/collection/COVID19_Africa). What are the procedures to assess these studies for accuracy and coherence so that journalists, policy makers and interested individuals can learn from them and  combat the virus?

Questions that will be addressed during the webinar include:

  • What are the new technologies for open and rapid peer review in academic publishing?
  • How is open peer review improving quality assessment during COVID-19 research
  • What incentives exist for researchers to assess other researchers’ results?
  • How can non-academic professionals engage in open peer review?

About Peer Review Week

Peer Review Week is a yearly global event celebrating the essential role that peer review plays in maintaining scientific quality. The event brings together individuals, institutions, and organizations committed to sharing the central message that good peer review, whatever shape or form it might take, is critical to scholarly communications.

Peer Review Week 2020 is taking place September 21 – 25, dedicated to the theme of “Trust in Peer Review”, shining a light on how the peer review process works and why it helps build trust in research. 

Read more at https://peerreviewweek.wordpress.com/ 

Target audience

Researchers, librarians, journal editors and other interested academics as well as non-academic individuals including journalists.

Date & Time:

Sep 21, 2020 at 4pm GMT/UTC, 5pm WAT, 6PM CAT/SAST, 7pm EAT 

Register at https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_vM9JpC35QqaNswNPfhN3aA

Confirmed speakers

  1. Stephanie Dawson, Science Open
  2. Antonio Tenorio Fornés, Decentralized Science
  3. Daniela Saderi, PREreview
  4. Gabriele Marinello, Qeios
  5. Denis Bourguet, Peer Community In

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

dolor sed elit. facilisis ut ut Praesent