AfricanArXiv ، عيدر افريقيا, TCC أفريقياو معاينة يسعدنا استضافة مناقشة مائدة مستديرة مدتها 90 دقيقة ، لإحضار وجهات النظر الأفريقية إلى المحادثة العالمية حول هذه السنوات ' أسبوع مراجعة الأقرانموضوع "الهوية في مراجعة الأقران". جنبًا إلى جنب مع لجنة متعددة التخصصات من المحررين والمراجعين الأفارقة والباحثين في بداية حياتهم المهنية ، سوف نستكشف الهويات المتغيرة للباحثين في القارة الأفريقية ، من المنظور السائد الذي يعتبرهم مستهلكين للمعرفة المنتجة في سياقات أخرى للباحثين الذين يشاركون بنشاط في مراجعة الأقران العلمية. سنسعى جاهدين لخلق مساحة آمنة للتفكير في قضايا إنهاء الاستعمار من المعرفة العلمية ، والتحيز في مراجعة الأقران ، وممارسات مراجعة الأقران التحويلية المفتوحة.

سيقوم المنسقون بدعوة المتحدثين لتقديم أنفسهم ومشاركة خبراتهم ومواردهم والدروس المستفادة في مشاركتهم في عملية مراجعة الأقران. بعد مقدمات المتحدثين الضيوف ، سننتقل إلى جلسة أسئلة وأجوبة خاضعة للإشراف حيث تتم دعوة المشاركين في المائدة المستديرة لطرح الأسئلة والتعليق والتفاعل مع المتحدثين. 

ما هو موعد الحدث؟

الأربعاء سبتمبر 22 ، 2021

2 مساءً - 3:30 مساءً بتوقيت غرينتش | 3 مساءً - 4:30 مساءً بتوقيت الرياض | 4 مساءً - 5:30 مساءً CAT | 5 مساءً - 6:30 مساءً تناول الطعام

حول مكبرات الصوت

د. راؤول كامادجو - المؤسس المشارك ومدير التحرير في المجلة الطبية الأفريقية - PAMJ

الدكتور راؤول كامادجو طبيب ، ومؤسس مشارك ، ومدير تحرير مجلة بان أفريكان ميديكال جورنال ، وهي دار نشر مفتوحة الوصول مقرها في كينيا والكاميرون. حصل الدكتور كامادجو على شهادته في الطب من الكاميرون ، وأكمل درجة الماجستير في الصحة العامة في بلجيكا (ULB) ، وسجل مؤخرًا في الدكتوراه. برنامج في علم الأوبئة مع جامعة مدينة نيويورك.

الدكتورة ستيلا أونسورو - باحث وعالم نفس إكلينيكي في شركة Kenya Power and Lighting Company - KPLC 

الدكتورة Stellah Osoro Kerongo هي أخصائية نفسية إكلينيكية وباحثة مقرها في نيروبي ، كينيا. هي أخصائية نفسية إكلينيكية مدربة وذات خبرة مهنية في الإرشاد والتوجيه والإرشاد. لديها مهارة خاصة في لغة الإشارة وتخصصت في التقييم النفسي والتشخيص والعلاج باستخدام نماذج علاجية متعددة الأبعاد. لديها أكثر من 10 سنوات من الخبرة في تقديم خدمات المشورة.

نيكولاس أوتا - مرشح دكتوراه في المصايد والاستزراع المائي بجامعة ماسينو

السيد نيكولاس أوتا مرشح لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في مجال مصايد الأسماك وتربية الأحياء المائية في جامعة ماسينو ، كينيا. حصل على درجة الماجستير في العلوم في علم البحيرات وإدارة الأراضي الرطبة من معهد اليونسكو IHE بهولندا وجامعة BOKU بالنمسا وجامعة إجيرتون بكينيا. كما أنه حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس. العلوم المائية التطبيقية من جامعة إجيرتون ، كينيا. نشر السيد أوتا أكثر من 25 مقالة علمية في مجلات علمية محكمة. يعمل حاليًا كمدرب في الكتابة العلمية والاتصال في مركز التدريب على الاتصال (TCC-Africa) ومعلم للباحثين في بداية حياتهم المهنية في مختلف الجامعات والكليات التي يحاضر فيها. لينكد إن:

البروفيسور روث (بروة) Oniang'o PhD - رئيس تحرير ومؤسس المجلة الأفريقية للأغذية والزراعة والتغذية والتنمية (أجفاند)

الدكتورة روث أونيانغو هي أستاذة وباحثة وحائزة على جائزة الغذاء الأفريقي وقد تم تكريمها من قبل حكومتها في كينيا لعملها في القضاء على الفقر والجوع في كينيا ، من خلال العمل مع المزارعين أصحاب الحيازات الصغيرة على مدى العقود الثلاثة الماضية والمساعدة في صياغة سياسات الأمن الغذائي والتغذوي. حصلت على النجمة الفضية وميداليات الخدمة المتميزة في كينيا. أسست روث Rural Outreach Africa (ROA) في أوائل التسعينيات ولا تزال تمثل صوتًا واضحًا وعميقًا في البحث من أجل التنمية كمستشار ومتحدث دولي. بصفتها مؤسس ورئيس تحرير المجلة الأفريقية للأغذية والزراعة والتغذية والتنمية (AJFAND) ، تسعى روث إلى تحسين السياسات واتخاذ القرارات من خلال نشر النتائج العلمية الهامة والتقنيات الناشئة في هذا المجال ، وبالتالي تعمل كمؤثر في القارة وعلى الصعيد العالمي. تحتفل المجلة بمرور 3 عامًا على عام 1990 منذ إنشائها.  
لينكد إن:

حول أسبوع مراجعة الأقران

أسبوع مراجعة النظراء هو حدث عالمي سنوي يقوده المجتمع ويحتفل بالدور الأساسي الذي تلعبه مراجعة الأقران في الحفاظ على الجودة العلمية. يجمع الحدث بين الأفراد والمؤسسات والمنظمات الملتزمة بمشاركة الرسالة المركزية التي مفادها أن مراجعة النظراء الجيدة ، مهما كان شكلها أو شكلها ، أمر بالغ الأهمية للاتصالات العلمية.

موضوع أسبوع مراجعة الأقران 2021: الهوية في مراجعة الأقران

هذا العام أسبوع مراجعة الأقران (PRW) ، وهو حدث سنوي يقوده ناشرون أكاديميون ومؤسسات وجمعيات وباحثون ، سيخصص لموضوع "الهوية في مراجعة الأقران". خلال الأسبوع الممتد من 20 إلى 24 سبتمبر ، ستنظم المنظمات المشاركة أحداثًا وأنشطة افتراضية لتسليط الضوء على دور الهوية الشخصية والاجتماعية في مراجعة الأقران والطرق التي يمكن للمجتمع الأكاديمي من خلالها تعزيز ممارسات مراجعة الأقران الأكثر تنوعًا وإنصافًا وشمولية.

حول المضيفين 

AfricaArXiv هو أرشيف رقمي يقوده المجتمع للبحوث الأفريقية ، ويعمل على بناء مستودع أكاديمي مفتوح مملوك لأفريقيا ؛ أ مشاعات المعرفة من الأعمال الأكاديمية الأفريقية لتحفيز النهضة الأفريقية. نحن شركاء مع خدمات المستودعات العلمية الراسخة لتوفير منصة للعلماء الأفارقة من أي تخصص لتقديم نتائج أبحاثهم والتواصل مع الباحثين الآخرين في القارة الأفريقية وعلى مستوى العالم. اكتشف المزيد حول AfricArXiv على https://info.africarxiv.org/

عيدر افريقيا  هي منظمة تجري الأبحاث ، وتصمم وتنفذ برامج إرشاد بحثي تعاونية وغير متصلة بالإنترنت للعلماء في إفريقيا. نقوم بتدريب الموجهين لبدء برامج التوجيه الخاصة بهم. نحن نؤمن بالتعلم من الأقران ، وتعلم البحث من خلال الممارسة ، والاهتمام بالباحث بأكمله والتعلم مدى الحياة. لقد قمنا بتنمية مجتمع نابض بالحياة من الباحثين في أندية المجلات البحثية لدينا والعمل مع محاضرين جامعيين لتطوير تدريب بحثي شامل تحويلي. موقعنا على الانترنت: https://eiderafricaltd.org/

مركز التدريب في الاتصال (TCC Africa) هو أول مركز تدريب أفريقي يقوم بتعليم مهارات الاتصال الفعال للعلماء. أفريقيا تي سي سي هو جائزة الفوز Trust ، تأسست ككيان غير ربحي في عام 2006 ومسجلة في كينيا. تقدم TCC Africa دعم القدرات في تحسين مخرجات الباحثين وإبرازهم من خلال التدريب في علمي و الاتصالات العلمية. اكتشف المزيد عن TCC Africa على الموقع https://www.tcc-africa.org/about.

معاينة هو مشروع مفتوح برعاية مالية من قبل منظمة غير ربحية كود للعلوم والمجتمع. مهمتنا هي تحقيق المزيد من العدالة والشفافية في عملية مراجعة الأقران الأكاديميين. نحن نصمم ونطور بنية تحتية مفتوحة المصدر لتمكين التعليقات البناءة على المطبوعات المسبقة ، وندير برامج التوجيه والتدريب لمراجعة الأقران ، ونشارك مع المنظمات ذات التفكير المماثل لتنظيم الأحداث التي توفر الفرص للباحثين لإنشاء تعاون واتصالات هادفة تهزم الحواجز الثقافية والجغرافية. تعرف على المزيد حول المراجعة المسبقة في https://prereview.org.

AfricArXiv, Eider Africa, TCC Africa, and PREreview are pleased to host a 60-minute long roundtable discussion, bringing African perspectives to the global conversation around this years’ Peer Review Week’s theme, “Identity in Peer Review”. Together with a multidisciplinary panel of African editors, reviewers and early-career researchers, we will explore the shifting identities of researchers in the African continent, from the dominant perspective that sees them as consumers of knowledge produced in other contexts to researchers who are actively engaged in scholarly peer review. We will strive to create a safe space for reflection around issues of scholarly knowledge decolonization, bias in peer review, and open transformative peer review practices.

Moderators will invite speakers to introduce themselves and share their experiences, resources, and lessons learned in their engagement with the peer-review process. Following guest speakers’ introductions, we will move into a moderated Q&A session where roundtable participants are invited to ask questions, comment, and engage with the speakers. 

When is the event?

Wednesday September 22, 2021

2pm – 3:30pm GMT | 3pm – 4:30pm WAT | 4pm – 5:30pm CAT | 5pm – 6:30pm EAT

About the speakers

Dr. Raoul Kamadjeu – Co-founder and Managing Editor at the Pan-African Medical Journal – PAMJ

Dr. Raoul Kamadjeu is a physician, co-founder, and managing editor of the Pan African Medical Journal, an open-access publishing house based in Kenya and Cameroon. Dr. Kamadjeu received his medical degree in Cameroon, completed his Master’s in Public Health in Belgium (ULB), and recently enrolled in the Ph.D. program in Epidemiology with the City University of New York.

Dr. Stella Onsoro – Researcher and clinical psychologist at the Kenya Power and Lighting Company – KPLC 

Dr. Stellah Osoro Kerongo is a clinical psychologist and a researcher based in Nairobi, Kenya. She is a trained clinical psychologist with professional experience in counseling, coaching, and mentorship. She has a special skill in sign language She Specialized in psychological assessment, diagnosis, and treatment using multidimensional therapeutic models. She has over 10 years of experience in offering counseling services.

Nicholas Outa – Doctoral Candidate in Fisheries and Aquaculture at Maseno University

Mr. Nicholas Outa is a Doctoral Candidate in the field of Fisheries and Aquaculture at Maseno University, Kenya. He obtained a Master’s of Science degree (MSc) in Limnology and Wetland Management from UNESCO-IHE, Netherlands, BOKU University, Austria, and Egerton University, Kenya. He also holds a BSc. Applied Aquatic Science from Egerton University, Kenya. Mr. Outa has published more than 25 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals. Currently, he is a trainer in Scientific Writing and Communication at the Training Centre in Communication (TCC-Africa) and a mentor for early career researchers at the various universities and colleges where he lectures. LinkedIn

Prof. Ruth (BARWA) Oniang’o PhD – Editor-in-Chief and Founder at African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development (AJFAND)

Dr. Ruth Oniang’o is a professor, researcher, African Food Prize Laureate and has been honored by her own government of Kenya for her work to eradicate poverty and hunger in  Kenya,  by working with smallholder farmers for the past  3  decades and helping to formulate food and nutrition security policies.  She received  Kenya’s  Silver  Star and  Distinguished  Service  Medals.  Ruth founded  Rural  Outreach  Africa  (ROA)  in the early  1990s and continues to be a clear and profound voice in research for development as an international consultant and speaker. As the founder and editor of the African Journal of  Food,  Agriculture,  Nutrition and  Development  (AJFAND),  Ruth seeks to improve policy and decision-making through the dissemination of significant scientific findings and emerging technologies in the field, and thus serving as an influencer on the continent and globally. The journal marks 20 years this 2021 since its inception.  
LinkedIn

About Peer Review Week

Peer Review Week is a virtual community-led yearly global event celebrating the essential role that peer review plays in maintaining scientific quality. The event brings together individuals, institutions, and organizations committed to sharing the central message that good peer review, whatever shape or form it might take, is critical to scholarly communications.

Peer Review Week 2021 Theme: Identity in Peer Review

This year’s Peer Review Week (PRW), an annual event led by academic publishers, institutions, societies, and researchers, will be dedicated to the theme “Identity in Peer Review.” During the week of September 20 – 24, participating organizations will organize virtual events and activities to highlight the role of personal and social identity in peer review and ways the scholarly community can foster more diverse, equitable, and inclusive peer review practices.

About the hosts 

AfricArXiv is a community-led digital archive for African research, working towards building an African-owned open scholarly repository; a knowledge commons of African scholarly works to catalyze the African Renaissance. We partner with established scholarly repository services to provide a platform for African scientists of any discipline to present their research findings and connect with other researchers on the African continent and globally. Find out more about AfricArXiv at https://info.africarxiv.org/

Eider Africa  is an organisation that conducts research, co-designs and implements collaborative, offline and online research mentorship programs for scholars in Africa. We train mentors to start their mentorship programs. We believe in peer to peer learning, learning research by practice, caring for the whole researcher and lifelong learning. We have grown a vibrant community of researchers in our research journal clubs and work with university lecturers to develop transformative inclusive research training. Our website: https://eiderafricaltd.org/

The Training Centre in Communication (TCC Africa) is the first African-based training centre to teach effective communication skills to scientists. TCC Africa is an award winning Trust, established as a non-profit entity in 2006 and is registered in Kenya.  TCC Africa provides capacity support in improving researchers output and visibility through training in scholarly and science communication. Find out more about TCC Africa at https://www.tcc-africa.org/about.

PREreview is an open project fiscally sponsored by the non-profit organization Code for Science and Society. Our mission is to bring more equity and transparency to the scholarly peer review process. We design and develop open source infrastructure to enable constructive feedback to preprints, we run peer review mentoring and training programs, and we partner with like-minded organizations to organize events providing opportunities for researchers to create meaningful collaborations and connections defeating cultural and geographical barriers. Learn more about PREreview at https://prereview.org.