Dekolonisation der Wissenschaft, Ausschreibung

Das Team von AfricArXiv freut sich bekannt zu geben, dass wir eine Partnerschaft mit Masakhane Aufbau eines mehrsprachigen Parallelkorpus afrikanischer Forschung aus Übersetzungen von Forschungsmanuskripten, die bei AfricArXiv eingereicht wurden. Von den eingereichten Artikeln werden die Teams von Masakhane und AfricArXiv insgesamt bis zu 180 für die Übersetzung auswählen.

Aus der Förderbekanntmachung:

„Wenn es um wissenschaftliche Kommunikation und Bildung geht, ist Sprache wichtig. Die Fähigkeit, Wissenschaft in lokalen indigenen Sprachen zu diskutieren, kann nicht nur dazu beitragen, das Wissen auf diejenigen zu erweitern, die kein Englisch oder Französisch als Muttersprache sprechen, sondern kann auch die Fakten und Methoden der Wissenschaft in Kulturen integrieren, denen sie in der vorbei an. Daher wird das Team ein mehrsprachiges Parallelkorpus der afrikanischen Forschung aufbauen, indem es afrikanische Preprint-Forschungspapiere, die auf AfricArxiv veröffentlicht wurden, in 6 verschiedene afrikanische Sprachen übersetzt: isiZulu, Nördliches Sotho, Yoruba, Hausa, Luganda, Amharisch. "

Lesen Sie mehr unter: www.masakhane.io/lacuna-fund/masakhane-mt-decolonise-science 

Um Ihr Manuskript (Preprint, Postprint oder Buchkapitel) einzureichen, füllen Sie bitte das Formular aus unter bit.ly/decol-sci

Wenn Sie eine neue Einreichung vornehmen, helfen Ihnen die folgenden Anweisungen, erfolgreich bei AfricArXiv auf Zenodo einzureichen:

Wenn Sie Hilfe benötigen, wenden Sie sich bitte an einreichen@africarxiv.org

Ihre Einreichung wird anhand der folgenden Kriterien auf Übersetzung geprüft:

  • Das Forschungsthema von allgemeinem Interesse und anwendbar für Doktoranden im ersten Studienjahr
  • Disziplinverteilung im Korpus
  • Regionale Verteilung nach Erstautorenstandort und Nationalität 

Sie können Ihre Arbeit in Englisch, Französisch, Arabisch oder Portugiesisch einreichen. 

Alle eingereichten Manuskripte werden in der Originalsprache mit einem DOI (Digital Object Identifier) ​​und unter einer CC BY 4.0-Lizenz veröffentlicht. Wir informieren die Autoren der Manuskripte, die zur Übersetzung ausgewählt wurden.

FAQs

  1. Was ist ein Vordruck?
    Ein Preprint ist ein wissenschaftliches Manuskript, das von den Autoren auf einen öffentlichen Server hochgeladen wird. Der Preprint enthält Daten und Methoden, wurde aber noch nicht von einer Zeitschrift akzeptiert. Weiterlesen
  1. Was sind die Vorteile, wenn Sie Ihr Manuskript als Preprint teilen?
  • Ermittlungspriorität festlegen 
  • Der Artikel erhält einen DOI, um ihn zitierbar zu machen
  • Der Artikel wird unter der Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) Lizenz
  • Steigern Sie Ihr Profil als Afrikaforscher und das Ihrer Gastinstitution 
  1. Kann ich meine Artikel auch nach der Veröffentlichung als Preprint in einer Zeitschrift veröffentlichen?
    Jawohl. Nachdem Sie Ihren Preprint an AfricArXiv in einem Open-Access-Repository Ihrer Wahl eingereicht haben, können Sie wie folgt entscheiden, bei welcher Open-Access-Zeitschrift Sie Ihr Manuskript einreichen möchten. Gehen Sie zu thinkchecksubmit.org und folgen Sie den Kontrollkästchen. Darüber hinaus können Sie Journal-Matcher öffnen . Verzeichnis der Open Access-Zeitschriften eine geeignete Zeitschrift für Ihr Manuskript zu entscheiden. 

5 Kommentare

Afrikanische Sprachen, um maßgeschneiderte wissenschaftliche Begriffe zu erhalten – Maschinelles Lernen · 18. August 2021 um 8 Uhr

[…] Sprachen werden kollektiv von rund 98 Millionen Menschen gesprochen. Anfang dieses Monats rief AfricArXiv zur Einreichung von Beiträgen von Autoren auf, die daran interessiert sind, ihre Arbeiten für die Übersetzung in Betracht zu ziehen. Die Frist ist 20 […]

Afrikanische Sprachen, um maßgeschneiderte wissenschaftliche Begriffe zu erhalten | Heute Neuigkeiten melden · 18. August 2021 um 10 Uhr

[…] Sprachen werden von rund 98 Millionen Menschen kollektiv verbal gesprochen. Anfang dieses Monats rief AfricArXiv zur Einreichung von Beiträgen von Autoren auf, die sich in das Tragen ihrer Papiere absichtlich zur Übersetzung einmischen. Die Frist ist 20 […]

Les langues africaines pour obtenir plus de termes scientifiques sur mesure -Ökologie, Wissenschaft - ecomag · 18. August 2021 um 11 Uhr

[…] sont parlées kollektiv par environ 98 millions de personnes. Plus tot ce mois-ci, AfricArXiv Appel à Soumissions d'auteurs intéressés à ce que leurs Artikel soient pris en compte pour la traduction. La […]

Afrikanische Sprachen, um maßgeschneiderte wissenschaftliche Begriffe zu erhalten - Techbyn · 19. August 2021 um 12:13 Uhr

[…] Sprachen werden kollektiv von rund 98 Millionen Menschen gesprochen. Anfang dieses Monats rief AfricArXiv zur Einreichung von Beiträgen von Autoren auf, die daran interessiert sind, ihre Arbeiten für die Übersetzung in Betracht zu ziehen. Die Frist ist 20 […]

Afrikanische Sprachen, um maßgeschneiderte wissenschaftliche Begriffe zu erhalten - Nova Languages · 19. August 2021 um 12 Uhr

[…] Sprachen werden kollektiv von rund 98 Millionen Menschen gesprochen. Anfang dieses Monats rief AfricArXiv zur Einreichung von Beiträgen von Autoren auf, die daran interessiert sind, ihre Arbeiten für die Übersetzung in Betracht zu ziehen. Die Frist ist 20 […]

Hinterlassem Sie einen Kommentar

Decolonise Science, Call for submissions

The team at AfricArXiv is proud to announce that we are partnering with Masakhane to build a multilingual parallel corpus of African research from translations of research manuscripts submitted to AfricArXiv. Of the articles submitted, the teams at Masakhane and AfricArXiv will select up to 180 in total for translation.

From the grant announcement:

‘When it comes to scientific communication and education, language matters. The ability for science to be discussed in local indigenous languages can not only help expand knowledge to those who do not speak English or French as a first language, but also can integrate the facts and methods of science into cultures that have been denied it in the past. Thus, the team will build a multilingual parallel corpus of African research, by translating African preprint research papers released on AfricArxiv into 6 diverse African languages: isiZulu, Northern Sotho, Yoruba, Hausa, Luganda, Amharic.’

Read more at: www.masakhane.io/lacuna-fund/masakhane-mt-decolonise-science 

To submit your manuscript (preprint, postprint, or book chapter) please fill in the form at bit.ly/decol-sci

If you are making a new submission, the following instructions will help you to successfully submit to AfricArXiv on Zenodo:

If you need help please contact submit@africarxiv.org

Your submission will be reviewed for translation based on the following criteria:

  • The research topic of general interest and applicable for 1st-year graduate students
  • Discipline distribution across the corpus
  • Regional distribution by first author location and nationality 

You can submit your work in English, French, Arabic, or Portuguese. 

All submitted manuscripts will be publicly shared in the original language with a DOI (digital object identifier) and under a CC BY 4.0 license. We will inform the authors of those manuscripts that were selected for translation.

FAQs

  1. What is a preprint?
    A preprint is a scientific manuscript that is uploaded by the authors to a public server. The preprint contains data and methods but has not yet been accepted by a journal. Read more
  1. What are the benefits of sharing your manuscript as a preprint?
  • Establish priority of discovery 
  • The article receives a DOI to make it citable
  • The article will be licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY 4.0) license
  • Raise your profile as an African researcher and that of your host institution 
  1. Can I still publish my articles in a journal after publishing them as a preprint?
    Yes. After submitting your preprint to AfricArXiv in an Open Access repository of your choice, here is what you can do to decide which Open Access journal to submit your manuscript to. Go to thinkchecksubmit.org and follow the checkboxes. Additionally, you can use Open Journal Matcher and Directory of Open Access Journals to decide on a suitable journal for your manuscript. 

11 Comments

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms – Machine Learning · 18th August 2021 at 8:17 pm

[…] languages are collectively spoken by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors interested in having their papers considered for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms | Report News Today · 18th August 2021 at 10:08 pm

[…] languages are collectively verbal by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors meddlesome in carrying their papers deliberate for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

Les langues africaines pour obtenir plus de termes scientifiques sur mesure -Ecologie, science - ecomag · 18th August 2021 at 11:11 pm

[…] sont parlées collectivement par environ 98 millions de personnes. Plus tôt ce mois-ci, AfricArXiv appel à soumissions d’auteurs intéressés à ce que leurs articles soient pris en compte pour la traduction. La […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms - Techbyn · 19th August 2021 at 12:13 am

[…] languages are collectively spoken by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors interested in having their papers considered for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms - Nova Languages · 19th August 2021 at 12:31 pm

[…] languages are collectively spoken by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors interested in having their papers considered for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms – AfricArXiv · 20th August 2021 at 12:48 pm

[…] We are proud to be featured in Nature this week, alongside Masakhane as we are working on ‘Decolonising Science’. […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms – Nature.com – africainmatters · 20th August 2021 at 6:15 pm

[…] languages are collectively spoken by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors interested in having their papers considered for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms - Som2ny Network · 21st August 2021 at 11:38 pm

[…] languages are collectively spoken by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors interested in having their papers considered for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms - Alert Breaking News - United States · 22nd August 2021 at 1:10 pm

[…] languages are collectively spoken by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors interested in having their papers considered for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

Daily briefing: How to quash post-PhD imposter syndrome - Techbyn · 23rd August 2021 at 12:08 pm

[…] The deadline for authors to submit their preprint, postprint, or book chapter to AfricArXiv for translation is 31 August. Here is all the info if you would like to know more. […]

African languages to get more bespoke scientific terms - Nature.com - VeriTranslate · 29th August 2021 at 12:09 pm

[…] languages are collectively spoken by around 98 million people. Earlier this month, AfricArXiv called for submissions from authors interested in having their papers considered for translation. The deadline is 20 […]

Leave a Reply